

MINUTES OF THE 14TH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF KAMPONG HASH HOUSE HARRIERS ON 16TH FEBRUARY 2013 AT BLK 6006, ANG MO KIO INDUSTRIAL PARK 3

1. Opening of the AGM

Having reached a quorum (18 of 35 members present), outgoing President Greg Chamberlain called the meeting to order at 1645 hrs.

2. Confirmation of the Minutes of the last AGM

There being no matters arising, Jonathan Haworth proposed and Ong Chye Ong seconded that the minutes of the 13th AGM be accepted as read and confirmed.

3. President's Report

Outgoing President, Greg Chamberlain, welcomed everyone to the meeting and expressed the hope that members enjoyed the programmes provided for the past year. We had 34 members in 2012 and in January 2013, 3 new members signed up. Unfortunately, long time members, Jim and Elaine Mathieson have just resigned due to their heavy travel schedules.

We started with the St Patrick's Day run in March. Thanks to hares M Silvarajoo and Jim Eller, and Melanie Smith for an excellent T shirt. We also had the ANZAC Day run, Golden Jubilee Run, Slim's Birthday run, the Charity run, MOE Dairy Farm run (set by Malfunction, a non member), we visited Sunlove Home where we served food to the residents. Thanks also to the Indians who organized the Deepavali run ..a good tour of Little India, The Christmas run set by Dick and Mary Roark, with the help of Mike & Melanie Smith, was a bit rained on but altogether a good event with good food. Our last run, the AXA run, saw us outnumbered by AXA staff. Although we have not had new sign ups from them,, we hope to in the near future.

BC Jackson reminded the President that there was also a St Andrew's Day run, to which he replied that that was also a good run

Three committee members (Jim Eller, Tom Lillig and Hafsah Idris) could not be present as they were overseas. Greg informed everyone that Hon Secretary, Jim Eller, will be away from Singapore for quite a while

4. Treasurer's Report

The financial accounts for the year ended 31st December 2012 were presented. Treasurer, Michael Smith, explained that he had to co-opt two new auditors, Tony Findlay and Brendan Daly, to audit the accounts, as the two appointed auditors Jim Jackson and Jim Mathieson were out of Singapore for an extended period and unavailable to do the audit.

BC Jackson requested that the 1st quarter 2013 accounts be provided before handover to the new committee. Treasurer, Mike Smith, replied that all transactions have been documented to date.

There is more than \$5000 being handed over to the new committee. We lost over \$300 the year before and the negative was over \$1000 last year. The trend is increasingly negative, so the Hash needs to either increase subscriptions or control the Hash brew expenses. We also incurred a \$25 per month bank charge due to the bank balance falling below \$8000. Ong offered to loan the amount needed to meet the \$8000 minimum balance, provided he is fully refunded later. Mike suggested that the new committee should consider a change of bank. They can consider DBS, which has a lot of branches in Singapore and has a \$15 monthly charge. M Silvarajoo maintained that a resolution was needed to change banks. He proposed, and Mary Roark seconded this motion. All members were in favour of this motion

Dick Roark proposed that the financial statements be accepted and Jonathan Haworth seconded the motion. The financial statements were then officially accepted by all present.

Election of Office Bearers for 2013

President, Greg Chamberlain said that he had received only one list of names to fill up the 2013 committee positions. When asked if anyone else was interested to serve, no other names were put forth, so Mary Roark proposed and Amy Lin seconded the motion that the following members be elected en bloc. This was supported by all members present:-

Appointment Name

President Katherine Tan Bee Phang

1st Vice President Tony Findlay 2nd Vice President James Jackson Hon Secretary Bina Bhattacharyya Asst Hon Secreatry Ong Chye Ong

Hon Treasurer

Linda Sim Puay Hiang

Asst Hon Treasurer Kavita Kaur Committee Members Munisamy Silvarajoo

Cassvinder Singh

Lim Boon Choo (BC Jackson)

6. Appointment of Auditors for 2013

Tony Findlay proposed, and Cassvinder Singh seconded the motion that Michael Smith be appointed as Auditor for 2013 M Silvarajoo proposed and Amy Tan seconded the motion that Tony Newling be appointed as the 2nd auditor for 2013

7. Incoming President's Address

Katherine Tan, President, announced that her team promises a year of good runs and good fun.

8. Appointment of Bank Signatories for 2013

The resolution that the bank signatories be changed in accordance with the newly elected committee, namely the President (Katherine Tan Bee Phang), Hon Secretary (Bina Bhattacharrya) and Hon Tresurer (Linda Sim Puay Hiang) was passed and accepted by all. This was proposed by Greg Chamberlain and seconded by Tony Newling

9. Any Other Business

No business proposals were submitted to the Hon Secretary prior to the AGM. The new President, Katherine Tan, then opened the floor for questions and comments.

Melanie Smith reminded everyone that traditionally, all Kampong runs should be 45 minute runs, with no long and short runs, as the idea is to keep everyone together. Katherine replied that her committee will keep this in mind for the 2013 runs.

Greg Chamberlain raised a proposal by a member that Kurup Venugopal (Red Baron) be made Honorary Life Member as he was instrumental in starting the Kampong Hash way back in 1999 with Stein Pederson and Ong Chye Ong. Ong recalled that Kurup put in \$500 of his own money to get it registered, and was responsible for the paperwork required, as well as getting the constitution drafted. BC Jackson objected on the grounds of how many people do we honour and under what circumstances. The hew committee will look into this

There being no other business, the meeting ended at 5:20 pm

Recorded by Asst Honorary Secretary, Amy Tan.

Gregory Chamberlain

President

Michael Smith

Hon Treasurer

Amy Tan

Asst Hon Secretary